top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMars

Friend or Foe


Welcome back to another post by yours truly. If you're new welcome to the Daily Mars if you're not I honestly didn't expect to see you back.


Well without further ado here's my last post for the year 2020. Happy New year in advance too.


 


A roller-coaster ride that you're sure you're going to throw up. A bad taco that's going to leave you with a tummy ache or simply an annoying pest that doesn't want to leave you alone.


That's exactly what 2020 felt like to me.


I made so many plans and you won't be surprised to hear that they were all thrown out the window. I've never been the superstitious type but I feel like this year was jinxed thanks to so many people saying it'll be a good year.


But this year started off as the worst thing to happen to mankind since the Ebola outbreak. I'd like to take a few moments to appreciate all I was able to accomplish this year.


In January, I made a new year's resolution to be the best me I can be which includes boosting my self-confidence so I did what I thought I'd never do; I published a book.


I was seemingly proud of this book but still not confident enough to share it with my friends, so I didn't. But like all devious master plans mine failed and my friends found out about it.


I literally had an anxiety attack and took it down almost immediately after (talk about pathetic).


Just when things seemed to be getting back on track Kobe died. Basketball has always been my favourite sport so learning about his death seriously took a toll on me.


Then the Australian wildfire followed after and boom we were sent straight into a pandemic.



Then George Floyd was taken away because of the colour of his skin. The same colour of my skin. It was like there was no saving this year.


Then the craziest thing happened. I picked up a pen and I began to write, I wrote so much and I didn't care who was reading it just as long as they liked it.


It was the best feeling I can honestly say I've felt in a long time. Within these seven months that we were locked in doors I was able to accomplish so many writing milestones and I made so many friends.


People who I could trust and confide in with my problems. It was pure bliss and I don't think I'll ever feel something just as magical.


I was also able to grow as a person and be completely independent of people. I learnt a lot about myself and it was okay to be different from everyone else because different makes you unique.


So 2020 might not have been all daisies and marshmallows but it was a year of realisation and I'm beyond thankful for the joy that I was able to experience amidst the whole chaos of 2020. Thank you for giving me such great people and being able to see 2020 till the end.


Lots of chocolate bunnies,

Mars.



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page